Letter from Eliza Cheney, Wife of Nathan Cheney

My husband, Joe, is the great grandson of John Curtis Cheney, a descendant of Artemas Cheeney of Milford, Massachusetts.  Artemas’ father,  Caleb Cheeny, was a selectman in this village.  His brothers were Wales Cheeney and Alexander Cheney. Another of his family was Levi Cheeney, who with his wife Mehitable, and Aquilla Cheeny and his family.  Their two families went to Georgia.   Several of the Cheney family eventually went west with the Saints to the Salt lake Valley.  Two of those were Aaron Cheney and Elijah Cheney, also of the same family line.  Another was Nathan Cheney.

The following letter was written by Eliza A. Cheney, the wife of Nathan Cheney.  I found them on the records of the Church as one of the families who went west with the Saints.  She was the mother of Nathan Cheney and the Grandmother of Ora Lee Brooke. It is also a letter of her testimony to her family and to others in the Cheney family.  So here follows the letter:

                                               Winter Quarters                                                    January 18, 1847

Dear Parents, Brothers and Sisters,

     You see by the date of this letter, we are a hitch farther west.  We arrived in Winter Quarters about the middle of November.  We have bought a comfortable little cabin near Sister Pratt’s.    Nathan, after making the necessary arangements for us to live through the winter, went down to St. Jo to earn money to prepare us to go in the spring or as soon as may e convenient.  My health is better than common for me to have.  I can endure more than I could when I lived in Navoo.  I can go out evenings in cold weather without it affecting me as it did formerly, so I feel encouraged and in good spirits.

     The last letter I received from you was dated January 25.  The general tenor of the letter is to have us return, but I have not the most distant idea, neither has Nathan, of ever turning back.  Our cause is and must be onward.  Think of the words of the Savior: “No man putting his hand to the plow and looking back is fit for the kingdom.”  I did not embrace this work hastily; I came into it understandingly.  I weighed the subject. I counted the cost.  I knew the consequences of every step I took.  I compared the Gospel with that which the Savior and the Apostles preached.  I saw what it cost them.  I was convinced that the same doctrine must be preached at the same expense.  It never did cost anything to support error.  Men can propagate error and be popular, but the truth always costs the best blood on earth, not excepting the son of God, and if I set my standard so high as to aspire to be a joint heir with Jesus Christ, of course, I must not shrink from drinking the bitter cup.

    If I could be among the numberless throng that John saw, whose robes were washed white with the blood of the Lamb, I must, like them, come up through tribulation and instead of thinking it hard that I have these difficulties to pass through.  I count it all joy that I am counted worthy to suffer for His Name.

     The world hated the Savior before it hated us.  It is evident our enemies are not willing we should have a foothold on earth.  We have now found a place where we can rest for a while, till the Lord commands us to move again.  The twelve have been to the West and found a place in the mountains which was shown to Brother Joseph in a vision, long ago, and which they know by description that had been given them; a valley, between the two ranges of mountains, the California and the Rocky Mountains, only a narrow pass between which will be easily defended from our enemies.

     It is represented, by all who have been there and returned as being a most beautiful place, twenty miles from the Salt Lake.  The city is laid out, the temple lot selected, consecrated and dedicated to the name of the most high God, and now we are all engaged to see who will be ready to go first.  Though we do not mean to go in haste, the sooner we go, the better.  The mountains of the Lord’s house shall be established; the ensign for the nations shall be lifted up; the standard reared; and the nations of the earth will be invited to come.  Thousands of the elders will be sent from the place to hunt the lost sheep of the house of Israel.  Nathan will undoubtly have to go and leave his family, but I borrow trouble with that.  I am willing to endure anything my sisters in the Church have to endure to help to build up this great and last kingdom, that the way may be prepared for the judgment of God upon the earth.  There we will have a biding place, while the indignation of the Lord passes by.  Now, things are a reality and not to be trifled with.  God has sent His hand to gather Israel and to do His last work of the earth and nothing will stay His hand.  If indeed you are looking for this work to fall, you are looking in vain.

     It is as it is described in scripture – a marvelous work and a wonder.  It is not, nor will it be, understood by all, no more than the great work in the redemption of the world was.  I bless and praise God that I have been aquainted with the light and been willing to work in it.

     I feel the great interest for you all. My heart’s desire and prayer to God is that you may be willing to receive our testimony concerning these things.  We declare it to you, before God and before angels, that these things that we embrace are truths from Heaven.  Now, this once more, after all we have said, we testify unto you that we know the power of Priesthood that God has revealed unto man on for the gathering of His people to prepare them for what is coming of earth.  And those who have tried to hinder the work of the Lord by stigmatizing those to whom authority was committed ere long be ashamed and confounded. I know the virtues of this people.  If there is true, genuine virtue on earth, it is among this people.  No people were ever more blessed.  There is not a principal taught and understood that the most chaste and virtuous mind could disapprove, but those who have not the spirit of God do not understand them; neither is it given them to know.  “No man knoweth the things of God , but th spirit of God”.  Let the ignorant beware how the judge decides things.

     I have written two letters, while we lived in Bentensport, and sent you, in which I mentioned the death of my little girl, likewise Alexander Cheney’s death.  His widow is married to a young man named Harris.  She has done well and she is very anxious to hear something of her affairs there and whether anything has been collected.  Wishes Simon to write.  She needs it.

     Father and Mother, I have thought since we have the second time broken up, that I would ask you to send me some means to help us to go to the valley.  If you feel willing to do it, I should be very thanful for it and I know you would be belssed in doing it.  I do not ask you because I expect to suffer if you should not help me, but you know going to an entirely new country and so far away from settlements we ought to be well supplied, if we mean to be comfortable until we can make cloth there.

     Mr. Cheney thought it best to go to St. Jo because many of the brethren were going and he would have company and beside business is good and money is plenty.  We did not feel contented in Bentensport, though we lived well, but we felt uneasy because the Church was gone.  it is just as natural for Mormons to run together as it is for drops of water.  If I were to return to you, I should never be contented. Though I might swim in wealth and though not one spark of affection has diminished for you, yet I know I could not be happy there.

     My faith is to gather with the people of God to do a great work for the salvation of my dead friends, even all my progenitors, that they may be brought forth in the first resurrection.  If you understood the principles of the Gospel, you would never urge me to return back.  It would strictly against your own interest.  If you knew what I know, you would encourage me to go forward, to do my work, that all things may be prepared when Christ comes to wake the dead.

     I want you to believe what I tell you and help me with willing hearts and you shall have forever have my prayers and blessings.  And I will do a work for you that you will never be ashamed of, but you shall rejoice over me through the endless ages of eternity that you had a child firm enough to remain unshken nothwithstanding your entreaties.

     “Think not though the judgments of God linger that they will not come”  reads the parable.  “God is longsuffering, not willing that any should perish.”  The elders are now preparing many of them to go out into the nations to gather up the scattered brethren and hasten them out as soon as possible.  We see everything moving on in fulfillment of prophecy.  And blessed are they who are children of the light and when that day will take us unawares.

     If you feel disposed to help me  and can do it without injury to yourselves, you can write me and I will send some trusty person, as there will be many going forth next spring and I will send someone that I know can be trusted.  Tell Charles if he has not found a wife yet, he had better come out here and get a Mormon girl.  If he wants a smart one, come now and make us a visit before we go.  If Charles is not disposed to come, you come, Darius.  We have first rate times here.  You might enjoy yourself; the best time you ever did in your life.  Everything is lively and cheerful here; no long faces at all.  We have good meetings and good music and we are all busy as larks.

     We are not afraid of hardships – we have peace in view and the idea of getting out of reach of mobs keeps up our spirits.

     Oh, if you would only come and go with us and be as cheerful and willing to suffer a little as I do, how great would be my joy.  But I mean to be faithful and continue to pray that you may sometime come to the knowledge of these things which you must know for yourselves or you could not stand.  “My kindred come, come go with me, all friends of truth where ere you may be.”  Direct your letters to  Missouri Co., Huntsucker Ferry, Austine Post Office, to be forwarded to the Camps of the Saints near Council Bluffs.

     Remember me affectionately to all my brothers and sisters and brother Simon Cheney and his wife.  Helen and Jane send their love.  They go to school.  Nathan is a bright, smart boy.  Now I must bid you farewell, asking God, my Heavenly Father, to bless you and if you will pray for the poor saints in this exile, you shall be blessed and I say it in the name of the Lord.  I am as ever, your affectioante daughter and sister,

                                                    Eliza A. Cheney

                                                                                                                                                                                

                                                             

                                                             

 

8 Comments

  1. Arlene Stigum said,

    October 6, 2009 at 8:39 pm

    We read Eliza Cheney’s letter last night at FHE and wondered if she made it to SLC. Do you have additional information?

    • bambudder said,

      October 9, 2009 at 12:49 am

      My husband’s line goes through Caleb Cheeney’s son Artemas and his descendant John Curtis Cheney Part of his line went to the south. Aquilla Cheney and Levi Cheney settled in Athens, GA. where I live. Levi and Mehitable built a house in Athens know no as teh Cheny home. Caleb was related to Alexander, Wales, and Nathan.

      However, this letter was given to me when I served as Director of the Family History Center in Athens, Georgia by a young man who also had a common name of my family. He was Henry Thomas and he was related in some way to the Cheney Line. Hwe knew that I was researching that line and he had received this letter from someone in his family who ahd then original. I do know that several of the Cheney Family did make it to Salt Lake. There is a Temple book for the Cheney Family in the FHC in Salt Lake. Some of the Records are for Elam Cheney and Aaron Cheney who married into a Foss or Fossett Line. Another of the lines went to Bear Lake in Idaho and one of the Cheney lines is the one Vice President Dick Cheney is from. I don’t know for sure they reached the Salt Lake Valley, but I do know that somewhere in my research, I know that I found where Nathan left Witer quarters going west with the Saints.

      Kathy Davis

    • bambudder said,

      October 9, 2009 at 12:50 am

      Sorry about some of the spelling. My fingers don’t always do what my brain tells them to do.

      Kathy Davis

  2. Kim Woodruff said,

    July 2, 2012 at 1:54 pm

    I’m an ancestor of Eliza Cheney. Thank you for posting this letter. I’ve been looking for it for years. They made it to the Salt Lake Valley, but the conditions were hard. She died in Centerville, UT 4 years after writing this letter.

  3. Kim Woodruff said,

    July 2, 2012 at 1:54 pm

    Do you have anything else related to Eliza Cheney?

    • bambudder said,

      July 2, 2012 at 10:10 pm

      Kim, I really appreciate your response to the letter from Eliza. After Henry gave it to me, it was like I help some precious passage or document and she became quite real to me. I ahve bee researching the family for many years because my husband’s great grand father was a descendant of Artemas Cheney. I have yet to prove whether he was his father or grandfather, but he left a newpaper article on his 108th birhday stating that Artemas Cheney was born in Milford , Massachusetts, in 1760. However, I later found an 1850 census record showing his father was born in 1801.

      By then I ahd one more research on the family line and found several others who had gone west with the Church. I believe, (but right now, I can’t look at my records as I am in another state and won’t be back until Tuesday afternoon, bur I’ll let you know what I find. Thanks so much and thanks for at least her death year), that Nathan was from Wales Cheney’s line and I have so many documents on the Cheney’s that I would have to go back and find out about that family. I have Lehi’s and Mehitable’l line and all of Caleb’s and Johanna Thayer Cheeney’s line. I also know ther are a couple of Temple Books on Elam’s line that can be found through the Family Hisory Library and that Cheney records can be found in the Family Group Record Collections. I will check when I get home and let you know what I find.

      Kathlyn Kirk Davis (Bambudder) By the way that name is mine from my grandchildren and it has served me well.
      You’ll hear from me soon.

      • Kim Woodruff said,

        July 2, 2012 at 10:24 pm

        Thank you! I’d love to hear more. (And if you want more than her death date, I can get it to you.) I used to read the written histories about Eliza’s life from my grandma’s family history collection, but she passed away and I haven’t been able to find copies of them. I’d love to share the stories with my children. They loved reading the letter.

  4. Kevin V. Hunt said,

    September 25, 2012 at 5:05 am

    Greetings! My name is Kevin Hunt, also a descendent of Eliza and Nathan Calhoon Cheney. I have much more information on Eliza and her family. Send me an e-mail and I’ll send you the information.

    kevin@huntbunch.com


Leave a comment